CISR Team Members Win Research Award

Congratulations to CISR team members who are part of the Gulf Coast Carbon Center at the Bureau of Economic Geology. The group collectively won the 2016 Jackson School of Geosciences Outstanding Research Award at The University of Texas at Austin this December. CISR researchers who are members of the Gulf Coast Carbon Center include Tip Meckel, Sue Hovorka, Changbing Yang, and Luca Trevisan (post-doc). Congratulations to this group for their well-deserved recognition.

Meckel, Hovorka, Yang, and Trevisan

UT CPGE Receives $12 Million to Help U.S. Curtail Greenhouse Gas Emissions

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) has awarded the Center for Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering (CPGE) at UT Austin a $12 million grant to fund carbon storage research aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

The four-year DOE grant will fund a carbon storage research project at the university’s Center for Frontiers of Subsurface Energy Security (CFSES), which is led by Professor Larry W. Lake. This grant is a renewal of the department’s five-year, $15.5 million research grant to the center in 2009.

Mary Wheeler Awarded 2013 John von Neumann Medal for Career of Achievements

Mary Wheeler is the 2013 John von Neumann medalist. The medal is the highest award bestowed by the United States Association for Computational Mechanics. Computational science is a field obsessed with convergence, where equations are scripted to result in real-world numbers that minimize risk and chance as much as possible. With that in mind, it’s a bit ironic that Mary Wheeler, the director of the ICES Center for Subsurface Modeling, became a mathematician and computational scientist because of an accidental encounter.

Gary Pope Tabbed for Chemical EOR Award

AUSTIN, TX - April 26, 2010 - University of Texas Prof. Gary A. Pope has been named the recipient of Oil Chem Technologies LLP’s 2010 award for outstanding contribution to chemical enhanced oil recovery. The award will be presented during the IOR 2010 awards luncheon on Monday, April 26, 2010, in Tulsa, at the Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center. Oil Chem bestowed the inaugural chemical EOR award upon Malcolm J. Pitts, presi - dent of Surtek Inc., at IOR 2008 in April 2008.